Day 8 – Victoria Sponge

I felt rough this morning! The vodka hangover well and truly kicked in and I didn’t get out of bed until lunchtime. My task for today was to bake a Victoria Sponge for my Korean flatmate’s birthday. Simple, right? No. It transpired that I had bought all the wrong ingredients. Plain flour instead of self-raising flour, granulated sugar instead of caster sugar, baking soda instead of baking powder – the list goes on. Added to that, I realised we didn’t have any scales so I had to guess how much of the ingredients to put in. As you can tell, I wasn’t particularly hopeful about the outcome of the cake. However, it turned out ok!!! We haven’t tried it yet, so I don’t want to get too excited, but the cake actually looks like a Victoria Sponge. Alex 1 German Baking Disaster 0.

After baking, Katrina another law student from Ireland came round for a cup of tea. As the owner of 260 Tetley tea bags I have certainly become popular with the British and Irish communities who are longing for a decent brew! According to a reliable source (Miss Marx) the German equivalent is not particularly satisfying. Having baked all afternoon, I didn’t really fancy cooking so a group of us went to Zum Szültenbürger for dinner. It was my third visit in 8 days – and it really didn’t disappoint. I had the Hunter’s Schnitzel. It was massive, tasty and reasonable! A winning combination. Afterwards we went to Thanners for a drink with some of the other international students but I called it a night quite early as I wanted to get home and watch Match of the Day!

2014-09-13 16.33.42

Great British Bake Off!

Leave a comment